Daily painting: little white jug

unnamed
Little white jug, oil on board

This was more challenging that I thought it would be.  Jugs are complex y’know, like cups and glasses.  It’s the elipses.  I always draw them wonky.  In the main I do like it – there are things that work: the blue backdrop, the drawing itself, the edges, the values.  I’m a little concerned that the shadow on this side is verging on mud.

All my little still life daily paintings are painted alla prima.  In fact everything I paint is done in one go – otherwise I’d have a lot of half finished and never finished pieces sat around.  Painting is one of the few things in my life I actually complete.  Cheers to that!

Leave a Reply

