Arts festival

I’ve finally finished my banners for Taunton Live!  They’re such fun to do, if a little challenging – the format, being severely tall and narrow, took some consideration but I’m surprised at what I managed to fit on. The worst part actually was gessoing the unprepped canvas – and the fact that this was heavy duty sailboat canvas, not the stretched variety I’m used to.
This one was inspired by some poppies I had seen last year at Hestercombe Gardens – somewhere very special for me as I was married there.  On the reverse I painted a semi abstract landscape based on the Blackdown Hills, looking towards the Levels.  It’s somewhere I walk the dog frequently.
It is no exaggeration to say I was bloody chuffed to have this hanging right in the town centre above Marks and Spencers! Because if that isn’t the height of taste, well what is?!
Terribly sorry about the pic quality…..

Leave a Reply

