I still don’t know what I’m doing

 

Just after Christmas, I read a great book by Ian Roberts called Creative Authenticity.  I highly recommend it if you’re an arty farty type.

Reading it gave me such a sense of affirmation and renewed belief that my approach to creating work and my processes were authentic, to me at least.  In fact, I would go so far as to say that, being self taught, I actually congratulated myself on how far I’d come.  Well, you know how smugness pride comes before a fall and all that…

Fast forward to now.  Creating anything I’m satisfied with is a memory long gone it seems.  Actually, that’s not true – I love painting my abstracts, choosing the colours, the emotion, the mark making, tuning in to myself so that I can produce some un-named feeling that I didn’t realise existed till I saw it on the canvas.

The reason for this abrupt desertion of creativity, I’m sure  (it better bloody well be) is I simply haven’t been able to get out and about in the wet weather to get my landscape fix.  Also, I think I’ve got sloppy and I’m getting in a muddle with my colour schemes.  Which is funny as I’m quite pleased with the last two landscape paintings I’ve done, but feel I got there by luck rather than skill.

So, the only thing I know to do in this situation is spend some time with my books, and go over what it is I think I’ve forgotten.  Also, it’s been a long time since I used my pastels to paint, and I found in the past that pastel painting really helped with my oils. Plus – we’ve had sun for two days on the trot….which means this soggy boggy damp island can dry out a bit and we pale types can top up our vitamin D!

LongrunFeb16
Untitled, 6 x 6, oil on paper

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “I still don’t know what I’m doing

  1. MAGNY TJELTA March 3, 2016 / 9:47 pm

    Great Blog. It is never easy to hel the creativity flowing all the time. Inspiration can hide when you need it most. My blog has some ideas to keep the creativity and inspiration alive during the dry periods. I hope some of the ideas help

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist March 4, 2016 / 5:53 pm

      Thank you! I’ll take a look at your blog over the weekend – thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. Jill's Oil Paintings May 3, 2016 / 12:31 pm

    Reblogged this on jill millward artwork and commented:
    Hi everyone! If you are not already following Vicky, you should hop over to her site and check out the work she is doing. She has painted a collection of beautiful abstract landscapes that will knock your socks off. She also has a shop connected to her blog where you can buy a print of many of her original paintings. I love this painting of Vicky’s that I have reblogged, the colors, brushstrokes, and suggested forms speak to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 3, 2016 / 2:06 pm

      Jill! I’m blown away for the shout out! That’s so kind of you, that hit me right in the feels!
      And I so appreciate the feedback, coming from you, the queen of brush work! What an amazing community wordpress is – I had no idea it would be so community oriented. People are so friendly and supportive, and I like that!
      Thank you so much again Jill!

      Like

  3. fruitfuldark May 3, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    Beautiful work. I also read that book recently, a great read. Will follow along.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 3, 2016 / 2:01 pm

      Hi there and thank you! It is a great read, I got a lot out of it. Thanks for following along, nice to meet you.

      Like

  4. Margaret Parker Brown May 3, 2016 / 10:39 pm

    Beautiful painting Vicki! I have always love “light around the corner” paintings. 🙂 Fun that Jill hosted you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

