Easel snapshot

I’m going through an intense time of discovery and exploration with my art work at the moment.  It’s all I talk about (see here ).

As an emerging artist, I know I can sort of get away with swapping styles, playing around with different mediums and generally finding my way.  I suppose what I’m worried about is that I read an article that mentioned when you start selling your art work, you should really have a recognisable style.

I already sell my art work.  People like it and buy it. But I don’t want to appear scatter gun in my approach,  yet I need to go through this exploration.  And actually, I’m sure that being the sort of person I am, I’ll always want to try something new.

This is how my easel looked today.  Three canvases in varying states of abstraction and finish, painted in oils with the same palette. One of them I know I love, the other two the jury is out.

Easel_snapshot
Not pretty enough for Instagram, but real life, peoples.  

 

Then I have four postcard size acrylics on water colour paper.  Again, they all share the same colour palette, but they vary in composition, and they were the result of an exploration I did (post coming soon on that).  I love pretty much all of them, and I loved doing them.

And neither of these sets of paintings are like my other work.

This perception I have, of “considered” exploration, is beginning to weigh me down a bit. I just don’t want to put my stake in the ground regarding style, and I’m not sure that I ever will.

My husband (I should listen to him more), said perhaps I should set myself an exploration project for the next three months.  Rather than trying everything in the hope that I find my “thing”, just focus on something and stick with it for a pre-determined length of time.  I do like this idea.  But what if I find it leads me down rabbit holes and a totally different direction again?  What if I never fully explore what I set out to?

Why am I struggling with this!  Arghghg!

 

13 thoughts on “Easel snapshot

    • vickihutchinsartist April 1, 2016 / 5:58 pm

      Oh thank you so much Catherine. Do you just follow your whims (you may not have whims! I have whims, I just assume everyone does!) or is a cohesive approach important to you?

      Like

      • Catherine Johnson April 1, 2016 / 6:37 pm

        Well usually whims but this year I wrote a huge list of birds to paint and sure enough I got bored after a few. I moved to muskox and then foxes. I also love abstracts. So animals and abstracts are my thing in oils and watercolors so it’s not very narrow. I’m not too keen on landscapes but one day I should maybe learn to do them. I hoped to get a style by the end of the year but you couldn’t look at my paintings and know I did them. Who knows if that will change. Nice to find a kindred spirit!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate April 1, 2016 / 5:43 pm

    I totally get what you say, I flit between different styles, once trying to find my way/ thing? I have concluded that this does not matter, I like to use a variety of media, I like to use these in different ways, as long as I enjoy it ( or yourself).I think it will shine through in the work you produce, that is the most important thing 😀. My only constant is hares/ horses, or hairy things, when I step away from that, the frustration and lack of enjoyment shows through in the colour choice and brush strokes. I think you have found ‘your style’ even if it is changeable, it is ‘your work’ after all.Just my opinion though

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist April 1, 2016 / 6:02 pm

      Hi Rebecca – like you, because I flit about, I really try to have faith in the fact that if what I produce come from a place of authenticity, then eventually that will show. Actually, I sound pretty down beat in my post, but actually I realise I’m learning a lot even when I’m frustrated! Thank you so much for commenting, have a lovely weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate April 1, 2016 / 7:39 pm

        You too have a great weekend, so pleased to hear you are not down beat, I love reading about your experimenting and pathway processes 😀

        Like

  2. Tara Leaver April 2, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    I’ve spent literally years wrestling with this one! In fact it’s only since the beginning of this year that I am truly, for the first time, suddenly making paintings that look like the ones before and after them! My take is that a} Picasso painted in many different styles in his lifetime, and ok we’re not all Picasso’s but it helps give me permission to explore! and b} I think it can take a lot of exploring before you find a groove that truly feels like home and something you want to keep doing.

    I’ve always resisted series and was never able to understand how people could paint the same thing over and over, or in the same style only. My work looked like I had ten artists inside all wanting to paint something! But over time it’s gradually been refining. I don’t imagine ‘this is it’ for me now, and I hope it isn’t! But there’s something to be said I think for the dedication and repetition that creates a certain energy and look that is all yours. {So I think your husband’s idea is a good one!}

    Liked by 1 person

  3. aviemeadows April 3, 2016 / 8:33 pm

    Well, I don’t sell my work…yet??? But I think if you’re not exploring you’re not growing. To me, art is so much more than the final product or any one style. If you stop learning, if you stop exploring, and experimenting do you keep the same joy and ah-ha moments? Part of the fun of being an artist is going outside of that comfort zone. To hell with familiarity and do want makes you nervous. In that space, that fear, you will grow. And people will or should continue to support you. Carry on!

    Liked by 2 people

    • vickihutchinsartist April 5, 2016 / 5:59 pm

      Hi Avie! Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply back. You are right of course! Growing and experiencing frustration is so important. I think my problem is knowing this on an intellectual level, compared to what I feel on an emotional one! In the end though, logic wins and in any case, what can we all do except keep trying to do better at what we love!

      Like

  4. Margaret Parker Brown April 5, 2016 / 3:15 pm

    The more I talk, read and look at other artist blogs and sites I am realizing that my “artist angst” is shared! I think being an artist and human, we all go through this and it is par for the course. 🙂 Your paintings are lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist April 5, 2016 / 5:54 pm

      Hello Margaret, nice to meet you, and thank you so much for your kind comments about my work! I think you’re right, the angst is part and parcel of being creative. I’m looking forward to taking a stroll through your blog over the next couple of days!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

