Sketchy times

Now I’ve got my new best friend gouache on the case, plus some fabulous pastels that are so cheap I didn’t buy them for about a year as I thought they’d be rubbish and they are completely brilliant, my sketchbook is adorned with the likes of this:

Astract landscape sketch in gouache & pastel by Vicki Hutchins
gouache and pastel studies

I’ve been wanting to use the brooding grey and yellow colour combination for ages – you know those skies you get over a yellow field? Β That. Β But I accidentally picked up a pink pastel…..and I love it.

4 thoughts on “Sketchy times

    • vickihutchinsartist April 7, 2016 / 3:21 pm

      Thank you Catherine, I really like doing little things like this. I just bought some proper (expensive) panels to paint on and now I’ll all precious about them! Some of my best work is done on scraps of paper!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. lindywhitton April 29, 2016 / 1:23 pm

    Love these little ones. Small is often very freeing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vickihutchinsartist April 29, 2016 / 5:32 pm

    Hello Lindy, nice to meet you! I agree! I get so lost any bigger than 10 x 10″…

    Like

Leave a Reply

