A pair of purples

I can’t quite remember how this colour combination came about.  Blue is there, because, well, it’s blue, it’s my colour.  But the lilac?  Plus I’ve painted a few things since and remembering stuff like this is a distant memory.  Pahahahahaaa!  See what I did there?!

Anyhow, I’m really pleased this cute pair did come about.  One of the canvases was a wiper – I had painted something on it already but wiped it off as my eyes hated it.  But it left a sort of nice surface behind and the ghost of the painting what was there before, so it seemed like it might provide a nice place to start for something new, which it did.

Plus I used oil pastels, which are new to me (even though I’ve had them for ages but not know what to do with them)!  I really enjoyed laying down some very loose lines and texture with the pastels – some of it I left showing.  I found using the pastels in a linear way also provided a really strong structure to my composition.  I find that strange as when I draw, I don’t draw lines, I draw shapes.

But don’t you love it when you do something different and you learn something?  I really enjoyed painting these, I loved the process, and I love the results.

That Place We Always Go II by Vicki HutchinsThat Place We Always Go by Vicki Hutchins

 

9 thoughts on “A pair of purples

  1. Margaret Parker Brown April 9, 2016 / 2:28 pm

    I have been wanting to dabble into oil pastels probably they would feel more “tactile” than dry pastels? I love the feeling of both of your paintings, I especially love the second one. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist April 10, 2016 / 10:07 am

      Hi Margaret – I had these cheap oil pastels lying around , and didn’t expect much – they are very crayon like. I think (from what I’ve heard) it’s better to use more expensive ones, but I feel I got away with it for my purposes here.
      Actually I’d say they’re less tactile than soft pastels, which for me are as satisfying to use as paint – I crave the sensory aspect!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Margaret Parker Brown April 10, 2016 / 3:38 pm

        Ah! interesting, as you can tell I have limited experience with the oil pastels. I think I’ll stick with the soft pastels and I would probably want to buy the more expensive, just because! I also crave the sensory aspect of my medium. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • willenajeane April 10, 2016 / 12:00 pm

        Hello Vicki, Yes I have been able to get back in there. The weather is in a crazy state but warm enough my heater keeps me toasty 🙂 I am working on some things and feeling pretty good. You are doing some really nice work and I love reading about your process.

        Like

Leave a Reply

