A change of pace

Oh, today has been grand.

This morning I sat in the garden and had breakfast.  This is blog worthy, as it means we actually have the weather for it!  It wasn’t too hot, bit breezy, and lovely sunshine.

After, I surveyed the grounds.  Which took about 12 steps as my garden is postage stamp sized.  My very elderly wisteria is in full bloom.  It’s the purple variety, and it’s beautiful.  It’s one of my favourite flowers  (geek fact that just down the road in Devon there is the UK’s oldest wisteria.  It’s trunk is as twistedly beautiful as it’s blossom).

So I spent till lunch sketching and painting outside -and I used watercolour.  Mainly this was in homage to cyber buddies Laura and Margaret , who are taking part in a daily paint-a-thon, the main theme being to challenge yourself.

Well, I like watercolour, it just doesn’t like me.  Actually, this isn’t the worst watercolour I’ve ever done.  I thought it was the best medium to capture the delicate wisteria blossom.  Perhaps I should give it a go in oils too.

I have to be in the mood for flowers.  Most of the time I work loose, but very occasionally I have the urge to get involved in something more detailed, usually a drawing.  It provides a nice soothing pace to get lost in.  I love the act of looking when I draw in detail…I tend to look at shapes, particularly negative shapes to draw, and to me it’s like a satisfying jigsaw puzzle.

Afterwards, me and the man took the dog to the local lake for a nice stroll.  Bliss.

However, since then it’s gone down hill a bit.  Let’s just say it involves a small boy, a dentist appointment and too many biscuits, if there can be such a thing in an eleven year olds life.

image
not loose, bit fussy, not really me
21 thoughts on “A change of pace

  1. Margaret Parker Brown May 4, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    ah I know exactly what you mean about wanting a certain look….like loose. I have the same ambition and desire but I am finding out that you need to start somewhere. Re-frame it (pun alert!) like this…you need to first frame a house before you start with the actual building, right? After I have been understanding that first I need to get in there, get familiar with watercolor, play with it, understand its character first and that usually is being tight or “getting it right”. Then the real fun begins after you understand that! Don’t judge it while you are painting or even afterwards. We don’t expect a beginning carpenter to understand all the skills involved in building a house, right? It is a learning process, just like you and me, we are learning and that takes time and determination. I am here to cheer you on! thanks for the mention by the way 🙂 I need to do that on my blog. I need to learn how to pretty up the link with a name rather than the blog address. I am all new to this blogging. Any how I am here to say you are doing just fine!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 4, 2016 / 5:50 pm

      Hello Margaret! You are right of course. It’s taken me a long time to get to where I am with watercolour (which isn’t far!), whereas oils, pastels and acrylic are far less complicated for me. I don’t know why, it’s just how my brain works. I also find I have to be clear headed to work in watercolour as it’s the opposite of what I normally do and it’s not a natural process, whereas other medium always has been.
      Linking on the blog thing – just type whatever then select it and go up to the toolbar thing just below the title, where all the bold and italic buttons are and there’s a symbol that’s a bit like a chain- click it! You can link to your own blog posts this way (as it gives you a handy list). Whereas you and Laura’s I copied and pasted in you urls’s. Hope that makes sense!
      And thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Margaret Parker Brown May 4, 2016 / 5:53 pm

        oh thank you! I have been wanting to do that for a while. 🙂 maybe you need to do some “slap dash” work with watercolor, devil may care attitude to soften up what you think you need to bring into the studio. I know what you mean though. It does take more thinking and planning but that is because it is so unfamiliar. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate May 4, 2016 / 6:59 pm

    I love it Vicki, I know you say it’s not you, but it was at that moment, because you are painting a mood and emotion at that time in your life, if you painted in a ‘style’ you would have to be in that frame of mind all of the time. I like so many styles of painting ( to view that is) and I like that you can change it about. I think it reflects a relaxing moment, and it shows that you were taking in all the immense detail and beauty on that day, and please let’s have many more nice days like today, a plea to the sun gods. I really do love this, it so captures the lace look of the wisteria.

    Liked by 2 people

    • vickihutchinsartist May 4, 2016 / 8:34 pm

      Ha! What I love about this wordpress lark is how insightful you all are! That made me smile, the bit about it was me, at that moment. I should remember that. Also, I never thought of it like that, having a style might force you to be in a certain mood all the time…..food for thought, Rebecca. Glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate May 4, 2016 / 9:16 pm

        He he, that’s what I tell myself when I flit between stuff in life, my daughter laughs, one minute it’s felting, then fimo, card making, paper making, decoupage, up cycling, the list goes on…but never knitting. On the art front, it could be anything, not often acrylic, but even that is not impossible as I have them in the shed, for the odd occasion…..keep flitting I think it’s far more interesting, mentally challenging, and enlightening👍👍👍👍👍👍

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jill's Oil Paintings May 4, 2016 / 7:34 pm

    That is really beautiful! The simple washes of color in the background give the wisteria the feeling of being part of something else, the garden. You get the feeling that there is more going on without it all being spelled out.

    Liked by 2 people

    • vickihutchinsartist May 4, 2016 / 8:38 pm

      Hi Jill – thank you! I just looked at the photo again and realised what terrible quality it is. I do have photo trouble sometimes on here, not entirely sure why. Not sure their photo editor is up to scratch! I do like water colour for being able to splosh it about!

      Like

  4. czarsmom May 4, 2016 / 8:36 pm

    I love it! My husband and sons gave me a wisteria plant 3 years ago for Mother’s day here in the USA. This is the first year it is really well established, and I have about 75 big purple blooms just now opening up on it. I’ll have to paint it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 4, 2016 / 8:42 pm

      Oh how fabulous! Is it a purple one? Or a white one….I might have to dig out some photo’s like a total bore and post it – there is some amazing wisteria round here (south west UK). 75 blooms in 3 years! That’s incredible. I’m sure mine probably has that, and I’m sure it’s around 20 – 30 years old. Though I’m not very good at remembering when to prune – and it does grow up into your guttering! Also – nice to meet you, thank you for following!

      Like

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) May 5, 2016 / 2:07 am

    Vicki, if I could paint flowers in wc like you have here, I would consider myself “arrived”! This is so, so delicately beautiful. Oh, my goodness. Wow. Oh and in my favorite colors, too! Seriously, I would not change one speck of this painting. It is all aces! And thank you most kindly for the mention. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 6, 2016 / 10:30 am

      Awww, that’s so kind of you! Anslem Keifer once said “Art is longing. You never arrive, but keep going in the hope you do”. He summed that emotion up so well don’t you think? I’m sure that’s why artists are so critical of themselves, always wanting to do better! Glad it gave you a visual treat!

      Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 6, 2016 / 10:33 am

      Thank you so much! Struggled to keep loose with this one. Flowers can do that to me!

      Like

  6. debiriley May 5, 2016 / 9:29 pm

    Vicki, I thought you did a lovely wisteria! you handled the watercolor with a great deal of sensitivity.
    the painting Is A Beautiful one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 6, 2016 / 10:36 am

      That’s very kind of you Debi. I am getting better at watercolour, I can’t believe how long it’s taken me to get to grips with it….my favourite bit is the splodge of paint on the left that had dried with a hard frilly edge! I’m not kidding! And I’m pleased I can still draw after a few weeks abstinence! Watercolour seems to be all about timing – and I’m the impatient sort!

      Liked by 1 person

      • debiriley May 6, 2016 / 11:19 pm

        I hear you about patience!!!
        But, when you look at this, later; maybe even a couple months from now … I think you might be alot more pleased down the track, with fresh eyes. for some reason, we are our own worst critics 😦

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

