Today’s view

image
what I like is how the mayonnaise lid is colour coordinated.  I believe that jar contains dried up vodka.  In lieu of rubbing alcohol.

So these are a pair of little 6 x 6″ panels.  I have a little fixation with texture, so I had a vague idea to do something with collage and see how it worked.

Where I live the rapeseed fields are coming into their own now, dotting the hills either side of the vale with their vibrance.  I love their yellow and what they do to the landscape, but not so keen on the sneezing.

The yellow in my paintings are cut from a magazine.  I glued and painted and scraped and scrubbed back.  I don’t know what I’m doing, but it was fun.  I don’t know where this will end up.  I don’t even know if I like it.  Actually I just looked up from my desk to look at them – no, I don’t like them.  It could be the colour – I’m working with acrylics and the colour shifts quite a bit, which is why I always go back to oils.  I may even put some oil on top of these.

Time for dinner!

8 thoughts on “Today’s view

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) May 13, 2016 / 2:21 am

    I wish I could see them up close. I feel ya on acrylics getting darker! Will be curious where you go with these. They look cool from here!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. debiriley May 13, 2016 / 8:52 am

    when I view them, their tones look just fine!!! and the design, is Great too 🙂 this was a neat post, its always so interesting to see other’s as they work !

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 13, 2016 / 2:23 pm

      I like to see how others work too…..my space is not really pinterest worthy, as it’s full of everything! The rest of my house isn’t too bad, clutter wise, but this room…..let’s just say if we ever move I’m not looking forward to it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • debiriley May 14, 2016 / 12:47 am

        Vicki, I actually do think your working space quite interesting. And the insights of what equipment and props you’ve used, always intrigues. As it is one of the driving factors of creation. And,
        yes, moving is a right royal, pain. not bad when I’ve been in a house for 2 years; dreadful at 7+

        Liked by 1 person

      • vickihutchinsartist May 14, 2016 / 9:11 am

        Perhaps we should all do a blog post chain of our spaces and favourite tools. I feel so very lucky to have space in my home – someone I follow on Instagram lives in an RV and finds a little corner, or when the weathers good, paints outside. And another lives on a boat. If you gotta create, you’ve gotta create!

        Liked by 1 person

      • debiriley May 14, 2016 / 9:16 am

        so true! I must say the whole RV thing would have me in a spin tho. Outdoors is good 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

