Friday feels

I am approaching my 40th painting of the year so far.  And I’m not even on a challenge or anything.

I think it’s because I paint in a series.   Often I will have two panels on the easel at once, and work on the both.  I work quickly and don’t linger in any one place for too long.  Most of the time.

I always put painting before everything else: networking, admin, photographing, managing the shop, etc.  I don’t ever want to get caught up in non – painting stuff so that I forget how to paint.  Besides, the only way to get better is practice.

However, I’ve accumulated all these works that are sat around.  Hence the recent forays into framing (that’s going so well by the way, I can’t wait to show you!) so that I can release a collection of original art.

But, with all the running an art business requires – and I do see what I’m doing as an art business – I realise I’m not actually paying attention to the business side of things.  More than that, I’m ignoring them.

Admin I can do.  Spreadsheets, web sites (graduated in computer science about a million years ago, before the internet was a thing), yep, all over it.  But the marketing. Oh how I hate a hard sales pitch.  Or even an over enthusiastic one that’s insanely cheery.  It really creeps me out, I feel terribly self conscious, and this is the other reason I avoid taking care of my business.

However.  I do want to sell some art.  And it occurred to me, having done two paintings this week, that I could use some of my week to focus on this a bit more and get my shiz together.

So that’s what I’m doing.  Reading all the books, all the interwebs and try to get a handle of this thing and more to the point detach  myself from my art a bit.  I know I could sell someone else’s art and sleep at night, so why not my own?

So.  Wish me luck troopers.  I’m going in.

Oh, here’s some pretty I don’t think I posted here yet.  Have a lovely weekend everyone.

Roses by artist Vicki Hutchins
I painted this some time ago – just love this rose

 

23 thoughts on “Friday feels

  1. MAGNY TJELTA May 20, 2016 / 4:41 pm

    Wow I love your art work, I am impressed with your production and how wonderful it turns out, I just wish I can do the same one day. I love your rose too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 20, 2016 / 4:50 pm

      Aw thank you, that’s so kind of you to say! Not everything I paint makes it to the final cut though! Some of its rubbish! Thank you again, have a lovely weekend.

      Like

      • MAGNY TJELTA May 20, 2016 / 4:52 pm

        LOL, I think it is part of the art, to make some rubbish. If not how will we get better?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Margaret Parker Brown May 20, 2016 / 4:56 pm

    Vicki, how exciting! I can’t wait to see and read about what you have been doing with framing. I have heard that promoting your own art is so hard, but it sounds like you are well on your way. I know it is disconcerting to promote your own art, what little I have done, it is so embarrassing and a vulnerability to it. I love your rose by the way. I can’t wait to see more of your art, you busy little bee! 🙂 lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 21, 2016 / 8:16 am

      Hello Margaret! It is feeling a bit vulnerable I suppose. But also just not wanting to be annoying! Got to get in the zone!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate May 20, 2016 / 7:22 pm

    Oh well done for being so focussed, I need to get there too, it’s the hard bit, grrrrr, I agree with all you have said, I just need more time to do it all, it would be great to give up work to focus on all the painting and sales….oops potential sales, however it is done, the journey of discovery!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 21, 2016 / 8:22 am

      Yeah, it can feel a little overwhemling at times, and it does take considerable effort. But, I feel so lucky to have the Internet – otherwise it’d be limited to the traditional route of entering shows and trying to get gallery representation.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Moon in Capricorn May 20, 2016 / 10:00 pm

    Beautiful rose! Good luck with your art business and all that’s involved. I know there’s a lot to think about with marketing and selling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 21, 2016 / 8:23 am

      Thank you! There is a lot to think about, I have to approach it one step at a time otherwise information overload!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Moon in Capricorn May 21, 2016 / 10:41 am

        Like art itself, it’s a long learning process. Best wishes, and I’ll be following along watching how it goes.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. tedgriffith May 21, 2016 / 2:36 am

    Good luck with the business side of the art business. I haven’t been able to break that barrier of selling myself, so I give mine away. At least it gets to some people that way and possibly will create some word of mouth interest.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 21, 2016 / 8:31 am

      Aw that’s a shame you give away your work. Have a look at The Abundant Artist, lots of information might get you inspired to sell!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. debiriley May 21, 2016 / 3:23 am

    I love that rose! gorgeous and sensitive brushstrokes!!
    artists do find it hard to ‘sell’ their product; imagine it is someone else’s. But, your work is lovely- I can’t imagine any troubles with selling/marketing for you. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • vickihutchinsartist May 21, 2016 / 8:42 am

      Aw thank you Debi! It all just takes time doesn’t it? I ran a little craft business for a while, and I found with that you just had to keep plugging away!

      Liked by 1 person

      • debiriley May 21, 2016 / 10:41 am

        she who refuses to quit…. succeeds!! I’m always determined, not to let those little things get the better of me. it works, most of the time. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Laura (Createarteveryday) May 21, 2016 / 10:25 am

    Vicki, I agree with Debi. Should be no problem at all for you, you just need to find your audience is all. Your work is gorgeous, just like this rose. Honestly not exaggerating, you only need that marketing bit and you’re off and soaring!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist May 21, 2016 / 3:03 pm

      Aw thank you Laura, that’s very sweet. Well I’m in it for the long haul, so might as well do the whole thing properly!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. fruitfuldark May 21, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    Vicki, I just nosed around your blog again. I forgot how gorgeous your paintings are! I am blown away by your statement “I know I can sell someone else’s art at and sleep at night, so why not my own”. There is a LOT to think about in that statement, I think for a lot of artists and those that aspire to be. If your art does not sell quite easily, there is not much hope for the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. willenajeane May 22, 2016 / 12:59 am

    Good for you. I am sure you can do it Vicki if you set your mind too it. Best of luck!

    Like

  10. Susan Feniak May 22, 2016 / 5:38 pm

    Very pretty! Keep plugging away and best of luck Vicki! Let me know how it goes. Selling apparently isn’t my forte as I haven’t sold a painting in two years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

