May retrospective

It’s half term week here in the UK, so I’m on Mum duty pretty much full time, which is just the way I like it when school is out, as they grow up too quickly, and before you know it, they’re getting tattoos and eating junk.  That is an actual true story.

I’ve had so much I wanted to blog about in the last week or so – paintings to share, thoughts to ramble on about, but time ran away from me.  Plus the weather is so nice, we’re never indoors.

So I thought I’d do a round up of what went on over the last month, as I’m struggling to keep track of it all!

A big step for me was joining Somerset Art Works, which I kind of feel intimated by.  It’s a mark of my growing confidence I was able to do this.  This is a semi formal organisation that runs Open Studios once a year, and I hope in the future to be able to open up my studio.  Also, I want to meet some painting buddies!

I’m also considering entering an Open Exhibition, which closes for entries on 18th July, so I have a little time yet to avoid doing anything about this till the last minute.Ha!

I’m also donating two postcard paintings for a fundraiser – hope someone wants them!

I’ve also purchased a shopping trolley…..like your Nan used to have.  Yes.  I’ll have to name it, it’s quite an object.  It’s for carting about some plein air gear.

I’ve had a month of exploring with collage and claybord, and not as much time as I’d like with my sketchbook.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Having already had a dabble with lino printing, I plan to use my contour drawings as a basis for prints.  I loved doing these!

Earlier in the month, I painted a series based on the pink blossom all over my local park.  Most of these are oil paintings, though some started life with acrylic.  I used lots of texture and scraping back with these.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And I’ve also stared framing up some of my original work to release a summer collection!  This is a lot of work, but I’m so pleased with how it’s going.  Subscribers to my newsletter get first dibs at special prices before they get released into the wild.

Next up, I was so inspired by the rapeseed fields I had to paint them.  I used only three colours (burnt umber, cerulean blue and cad yellow medium) for all of these, and I think they work so well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The two with the palette knife are my postcard fundraisers.

Then, in an inspired moment, I dragged my plein air kit into the garden to paint the last light on my climbing hydrangea.  I loved doing this.  You can see progress shots on my Facebook page.

Climbing hydrangea - plein air painting by Vicki Hutchins
Climbing hydrangea and yellow watering can

There are composition issues with this (the placement and missing bottom of the watering can) but it was such fun I dragged my kit with me again when we took a trip to the beach on Sunday evening.

It was a beautiful afternoon, and I painted my socks off – but it was a whooooole bag of wrong.  This can happen to me sometimes, I become a slave to detail.  So yesterday I painted the sunset at the beach, where the memory of the light and the smell of sausages we cooked lingered.

Sunset at Exmouth by artist Vicki Hutchins
Last light at Exmouth beach

And I think that is it! So bear with me till school is back, where I’ll have more time to blog and say Hi!

 

14 thoughts on “May retrospective

  1. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate May 31, 2016 / 6:21 pm

    Gosh Vicki, you have been so busy, funny that you say you have joined an art group, just today I dragged my daughter ( old enough to get a tattoo…but not yet noted one) to an art exhibition run by a new forest art group, I grabbed a leaflet as thinking about joining. The quality of the work was fantastic, so felt inspired about joining, I really want to, my problem will be getting to the meetings, what with work, horses, other animals and wanting time to actually do the painting. So pleased to see you are following a similar path to myself, it feels good to have someone conquer the same dilemmas I go through, almost on a parallel. Enjoy the half term.❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 1, 2016 / 11:09 am

      Hi Rebecca!

      The art group is a dilemma isn’t it? What’s expected, what’s the commitment, etc. I’m quite wary of spending time on things associated with art but not actually creating art! I’m careful not to let much get in the way of actual painting.
      However, I do need to get out more!
      Glad to hear you’re thinking of expanding your horizons too- who knows where it will lead for you! And how wonderful your daughter will come along to exhibitions with you, lovely mother daughter time.

      Liked by 1 person

      • REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate June 1, 2016 / 12:26 pm

        He he, I don’t think she was overly keen, but we were on the way to do the horses for the evening, I kinda detoured to the exhibition, she is going to uni to do graphics, but she plans to do digital stuff, so a slight interest is there from her. I am quite lucky in that we do get hrs of mum daughter time, with the horses, lots of rides out together ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Susan Feniak May 31, 2016 / 6:55 pm

    You are very busy indeed Vicki! My kids have long since left home and have kids of their own. At 36 and 40 I would say if they want a tattoo they can have one. Not that I am a fan or anything. As always your art is beautiful and it amazes me you found the time!! Enjoy the group.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 1, 2016 / 11:15 am

      Hi Susan

      Ah tattoos….I don’t think I mind them as much as I make out I do to my daughter. She got her second yesterday. My main objection with tattoos are the colours – so saturated! Like when you got free colouring pens with a magazine in just primary red blue and yellow! Having said that, hers is just a plain line drawing so no colour. And yet I still am not a huge fan on the design!
      Thank you so much for your kind comments! Off out now to paint Dartmoor.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday) June 1, 2016 / 1:32 am

    Oh Vicki. That sunset painting is glorious! Sounds like you’re making some great moves forward and I am your biggest fan, so consider me shaking my pompoms and cheering you on! 💜💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 1, 2016 / 11:17 am

      Oh you lovely people here on WordPress are such a supportive community!
      I loved painting the sunset, I think I like the results.

      Thank you so much for the encouragement and support Laura, I have a lot of catching up to do with everyone’s blogs when half term is over!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) June 1, 2016 / 12:13 pm

        It really is though, I wish I could paint a sunset like that! Your paintings make me feel swept away, I can always feel the wind in my hair when looking at your landscapes. I feel it so strongly, like I’m right there! It’s a wonderful feeling, nothing like it. You’re doing the important stuff right where you are, no worries about getting caught up. Enjoy them while you’ve got them. From one mama to another. (Mine moved out a couple years ago after graduating college) 💛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. fruitfuldark June 1, 2016 / 8:46 am

    Great paintings. For me a lot of green in a painting is hard to pull off! But on that first painting you did it so well. Lots to learn here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 1, 2016 / 11:21 am

      Thank you! That’s very kind of you. Green is a tricky thing isn’t it? The rest of my garden was behind the hydrangea, green as anything, but I decided the hydrangea and watering can were the focus, everything else a blurry green grey background. I probably could have exaggerated the grey more actually. This time of year is lovely weather for painting – not so much the green!

      Like

  5. Catherine Johnson June 1, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    Really love the sunset painting! Excited you have joined a group. I almost did to get Art in the park cheaper but if they are just meeting to talk every week I don’t know if I want to. Have a fab time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 2, 2016 / 9:09 am

      I know what you mean Catherine! I’m hoping there might be workshops and exhibiting opportunities, really. Plus, I would quite like to meet other artists in my area – plein air is always nice with a friend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

