Sometimes less is better

Hmm. Having spent the week gadding about painting every place I went, I’m not in inspiration overload.

This is one of those occasions where too much choice means a decision isn’t easily made.

Though I’m planning a series of Dartmoor paintings, I need to let my thoughts about how I approach that percolate for a bit.

So I settled on the other Exmouth beach painting I wanted to do. This was at the other end of the bay, further away from the setting sun, but equally mesmerising.

 

Exmouth at sundown by Vicki Hutchins
Exmouth at sun down, oil on canvas, 10 x 14″
24 thoughts on “Sometimes less is better

  1. sherylmcdougald June 3, 2016 / 4:15 pm

    Beautiful work, Vicki – I found you via Jean’s blog “Drawn In” and I’m so glad I did!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 3, 2016 / 4:20 pm

      Hello Sheryl, so nice to meet you and your blog looks lovely! Can’t wait to have a proper peek over the weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Judith June 3, 2016 / 4:36 pm

    Oh, Vicki, this is so beautiful! It feels like a quiet end to a long day. Just gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Judith June 3, 2016 / 4:53 pm

        I just got back grocery shopping, and now after reading and seeing so many gorgeous pictures…gotta go make some art! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • vickihutchinsartist June 3, 2016 / 4:58 pm

        Ha! That’s what I’m like – I was just about to look for Deborah Stewarts book on my shelf and have another read! We all bounce of one another!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Margaret Parker Brown June 3, 2016 / 5:04 pm

    Is this a plein air? It is so beautiful and serene….there is a spiritual or ethereal quality to it! don’t touch it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 3, 2016 / 7:08 pm

      I wish it was Margaret – I wonder if I’ll ever be quick enough and skilled enough to get a sunset down! This sky only lasted about 5 minutes, thank goodness for camera phones. Plus I did a plein air there that afternoon, so I’d soaked up the place!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Margaret Parker Brown June 3, 2016 / 7:10 pm

        well, it does have a plein air look to it. You know I have only painted twice in the evening because it is super hard, more than in the early part of the day. When you lose that sunlight, it is gone!

        Liked by 1 person

      • vickihutchinsartist June 3, 2016 / 10:17 pm

        Exactly! I think sunrise might be easier – in the winter though when it’s like at 7am;)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. debiriley June 4, 2016 / 2:04 am

    beautiful. smooth. relaxing. I looked and felt so relaxed. It is lovely!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 6, 2016 / 3:55 pm

      Hello Debi! Ah, strange colours for me (though still the same old ones I use, just mixed different). I wasn’t sure at first but it’s grown on me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • debiriley June 7, 2016 / 12:38 am

        πŸ™‚ different mixes and ratios, sometimes ‘stir the pot!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. fruitfuldark June 4, 2016 / 8:12 am

    Beautiful painting. I so admire your ability to put down those strong colourful strokes and leave them alone! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 6, 2016 / 3:53 pm

      Aw thank you! Sometimes I faff too much and ruin a good bit – I think it’s because painting is a sensory thing for me. Perhaps I should have been a painter and decorator!

      Like

Leave a Reply

