Monday musings

School is back. The house is quiet. And tidy. The summer is truly here and we are all melting. 

I’m waiting for a delivery of art supplies, including cradled panels, so I can start putting down the first stages of my Dartmoor series. 

In the meantime though I’ve enjoyed not rushing. Just spending   time doing a lot of thinking,  reading, and journaling what thoughts I have. 

In particular I’ve been paying attention to my preferences, artistically speaking. Really narrowing down what I enjoy looking at or doing is useful. Of course it might change- in fact, I expect it to. 

One of my challenges is to marry up approaches that are the opposite ends of the spectrum, and thinking about how I might utilise those things in my work more coherently. 

In the meantime these two have been trimmed and sent off for a fundraiser of postcard art.

19 thoughts on “Monday musings

  1. Margaret Parker Brown June 6, 2016 / 4:38 pm

    I love these, soft and full of feeling. Looking at other people’s art, I see the moods, the artist themselves (usually) in their work. I forget that this probably shows in my work. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • vickihutchinsartist June 6, 2016 / 10:49 pm

      Aw, you are insightful Margaret! My initial responses are not as sophisticated, usually I’ll be drawn to either a colour or some texture, it’s only much later on looking I begin to ponder what was behind the making of a piece of art. You have a lovely way with words.

      Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 6, 2016 / 10:50 pm

      I know – but I wish everything wasn’t so ยฃยฃยฃยฃ! My husband/accountant also wishes this.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate June 6, 2016 / 6:47 pm

    New art supplies are always exciting, like Christmas. I really love your fundraiser art works, they will do well I am sure. Such a generous gift โค๏ธ

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 6, 2016 / 10:54 pm

      Aw thank you Rebecca. I hope at least one of them goes….delivery of the good stuff due tomorrow. I’ve treated myself to a Michael Harding oil paint. Just the one tube, mind! I’m starting to invest in better quality paints as I replace them. This ones that old work horse burnt umber, which I’m not as excited about if it had been cerulean blue!

      Liked by 2 people

      • REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate June 7, 2016 / 6:13 pm

        I must admit I have never tried that brand, let me know what you think. I love my browns, I would be so excited. My next buy will be transparent white oil paint, I can only find one brand though WN? Have you ever tried t. White?

        Liked by 1 person

      • vickihutchinsartist June 7, 2016 / 10:16 pm

        Omg Rebecca – I might be buying more MH paint…..it’s heavenly. Transparent white oil paint? Is that like mixing white? Or white but dries transparent, like W & N clear gesso? And more importantly, what will you do with it! Intrigued…

        Liked by 1 person

      • REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate June 8, 2016 / 6:40 am

        Mmm I don’t think it’s the same as mixing white?? I want to use it for glazing, sometimes white is so hard to tone down its opaque quality, even with a good addition of oil/ liquin. I thought this might be the answer, I could be wrong. I think it could be a great use on animal hair on the later layers of oil paint.

        Like

  3. janiskirstein June 6, 2016 / 8:48 pm

    Really nice landscape painting. Love the blast of light coming through the clouds and saturating the ground in scattered patches.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jill Kuhn June 6, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    Your colors are beautiful! And I need to order some art supplies online too! Thanks for the reminder. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • vickihutchinsartist June 6, 2016 / 10:56 pm

      One of my favourite things is a cup of tea in bed on a weekend with the art catalogue…oh the possibilities!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Jill Kuhn June 6, 2016 / 11:30 pm

        Sounds like fun! ๐ŸŽจ๐Ÿ’•

        Like

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) June 7, 2016 / 12:37 pm

    Oh Vicki. That swept away feeling again. One day, one day…….I hope to be able to create something that beautiful. Thank you for sharing. Now that school is back in session, I hope to be seeing more of your gorgeous work. And yay for new art supplies! Do your kids get a summer break? Ours get most of the summer off.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vickihutchinsartist June 7, 2016 / 4:02 pm

      Aw thank you Laura, so kind. Yes, school breaks from end July to start September, they get 6 weeks! Loved them as a kid!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

